Skip to Content

National History Day in Iowa 2016 Contest Dates 
*Entry fees vary between districts and are determined by the actual costs associated with hosting the contest. Costs for contests that charge no fees are covered by the hosting institution and/or additional sponsors.*

If an entry deadline is not specified, please check with the District Coordinator for details.  If you have general NHD in Iowa questions, please contact Vania Boland.

"Website Lockout Date" indicates the date on which students will not be able to make changes to their websites. 

Regional Cities


February 27 - Saturday :
Decorah Middle School, Decorah
Coordinator(s): Penny Ingles pingles@aea1.k12.ia.us , Kady Korbel kkorbel@aea1.k12.ia.us 

March 7 - Monday :

St. Ambrose University, Davenport
Coordinator(s): Jan Hill janhill1@q.com and Chris Green chris.green@north-scott.k12.ia.us

March 12 - Saturday:

Storm Lake High School, Storm Lake
Coordinator(s): Laura Sievers  lsievers@albertct.k12.ia.us and Priscilla Robinson probinson@slcsd.org

March 18, Friday:  

Old Capitol Museum and Schaeffer Hall - University of Iowa Campus, Iowa City
Coordinator(s): Kathrine Moermond kathrine-moermond@uiowa.edu 

March 19 - Saturday

Council Bluffs Public Library, Council Bluffs
Coordinator(s): Deb Masker dmasker@cbcsd.org 

March 23 - Wednesday

Western Iowa Technical College, Sioux City
Coordinator(s): Dr. Judy Sweetman jsweetman@nwaea.org

March 30 - Wednesday
Graceland University, Lamoni
Coordinator(s): Joe Stouffer stouffer@graceland.edu

March 30 - Wednesday

Central College, Pella
Coordinator(s): Lori Witt wittl@central.edu 

March 31 - Thursday (Junior Division)
April 1  -  Friday (Senior Division)
Grout Museum District, Waterloo
Coordinator(s): Sara Nefzger sara.nefzger@gmdistrict.org and Emma Seehusen emma.seehusen@gmdistrict.org

April 1 - Friday
Indian Hills Community College, Ottumwa
Coordinator(s): Lisa Sines lisa.sines@gpaea.org and Doreen Underwood doreen.underwood@gpaea.org

April 2 - Saturday

Grand View University, Des Moines
Coordinator(s): Dr. Kevin Gannon kgannon@grandview.edu 

April 8 - Friday

Waldorf College, Forest City
Coordinator(s): Prof. James Scarry james.scarry@waldorf.edu, and Deb Nagle danagle@nwood-kensett.k12.ia.us