Skip to Content

National History Day in Iowa 2015 Contest Dates 
*Entry fees vary between districts and are determined by the actual costs associated with hosting the contest. Costs for contests that charge no fees are covered by the hosting institution and/or additional sponsors.*

If an entry deadline is not specified, please check with the District Coordinator for details.  If you have general NHD in Iowa questions, please contact Katie Craven.

"Website Lockout Date" indicates the date on which students will not be able to make changes to their websites. 

Regional Cities



March 2 - Monday
St. Ambrose University, Davenport
Coordinator(s): Jan Hill janhillnhd@gmail.com and Chris Green chris.green@north-scott.k12.ia.us
Last day to register: February 9
Website Lockout Date: February 17
Fee: $15
Contest Information (PDF)
Results (PDF)

March 4 - Wednesday 
Graceland University, Lamoni
Coordinator(s): Dr. John Franklin jkfrankl@graceland.edu
Last day to register:  February 26
Website Lockout Date: February 27
Fee: $0
Results (PDF)

March 7 - Saturday
Decorah Middle School, Decorah
Coordinator(s): Penny Ingles pingles@aea1.k12.ia.us and Alicia Helle ahelle@aea1.k12.ia.us
Last day to register: February 21
Website Lockout Date: February 22
Fee: $1
Results (PDF)

March 12 - Thursday
Western Iowa Technical College, Sioux City
Coordinator(s): Dr. Judy Sweetman jsweetman@nwaea.org
Last day to register: February 27
Website Lockout Date: February 27
Fee: $0
Contest Information (PDF)
Results (PDF)

March 14 - Saturday
Storm Lake Middle School, Storm Lake
Coordinator(s): Laura Sievers  lsievers@albertct.k12.ia.us and Priscilla Robinson probinson@slcsd.org
Last day to register: February 28
 Website Lockout Date: March 1
Fee: $10
Contest Information (PDF)
Results (PDF)

March 20, Friday
Old Capitol Museum and Schaeffer Hall - University of Iowa Campus, Iowa City
Coordinator(s): Kathrine Moermond kathrine-moermond@uiowa.edu and Rachel Winter rachel-winter@uiowa.edu
Last day to register:  February 20
Website Lockout Date: March 6
Fee: $12
Contest Information (PDF)
Results (PDF)

March 21, Saturday
Council Bluffs Public Library, Council Bluffs
Coordinator(s): Beth Maynes bmaynes@upcontractor.up.com and Deb Masker dmasker@cbcsd.org
Last day to register:  February 28
Website Lockout Date: March 4
Fee: $0
Results (PDF)

March 26 - Thursday (Senior Division)
March 27 - Friday (Junior Division)
Grout Museum District, Waterloo
Coordinator(s): Sara Nefzger sara.nefzger@gmdistrict.org and Jason Dornbush jason.dornbush@gmdistrict.org 
Last day to register: March 1
Website Lockout Date: March 13
Fee: $6

March 27 - Friday
Waldorf College, Forest City
Coordinator(s): Prof. James Scarry james.scarry@waldorf.edu, Dr. Eric Franco eric.franco@waldorf.edu, Deb Nagle danagle@nwood-kensett.k12.ia.us 
Last day to register:  March 6
Website Lockout Date: March 20
Fee: $3

March 27 - Friday
Central College, Pella
Coordinator(s): Dr. Lori Witt wittl@central.edu and Ashley Delaney mrsashleydelaney@gmail.com
Last day to register:  March 13
Website Lockout Date: March 13
Fee: $15
Contest Information (PDF)

April 11 - Saturday
Grand View University, Des Moines
Coordinator(s): Dr. Kevin Gannon kgannon@grandview.edu and Kathy Paul kpaul@johnston.k12.ia.us
Last day to register:  March 6
Website Lockout Date: March 27
Fee: $13
Contest Information (PDF)

April 14 - Tuesday
Fairfield Arts and Convention Center, Fairfield
Coordinator(s): Shannon Johnson shannon.johnson@gpaea.org
Last day to register:  March 23
Website Lockout Date: March 24
Fee: $0