Skip to Content

National History Day in Iowa 2016 Contest Dates 
*Entry fees vary between districts and are determined by the actual costs associated with hosting the contest. Costs for contests that charge no fees are covered by the hosting institution and/or additional sponsors.*

If an entry deadline is not specified, please check with the District Coordinator for details.  If you have general NHD in Iowa questions, please contact Katie Craven.

"Website Lockout Date" indicates the date on which students will not be able to make changes to their websites. 

Regional Cities



March 7 - Monday
St. Ambrose University, Davenport
Coordinator(s): Jan Hill janhillnhd@gmail.com and Chris Green chris.green@north-scott.k12.ia.us

March 18, Friday

Old Capitol Museum and Schaeffer Hall - University of Iowa Campus, Iowa City
Coordinator(s): Kathrine Moermond kathrine-moermond@uiowa.edu and Rachel Winter rachel-winter@uiowa.edu

March 19 - Saturday
Storm Lake Middle School, Storm Lake
Coordinator(s): Laura Sievers  lsievers@albertct.k12.ia.us and Priscilla Robinson probinson@slcsd.org

March 23 - Wednesday

Western Iowa Technical College, Sioux City
Coordinator(s): Dr. Judy Sweetman jsweetman@nwaea.org

March 31 - Thursday (Senior Division)
April 1  - Friday (Junior Division)
Grout Museum District, Waterloo
Coordinator(s): Sara Nefzger sara.nefzger@gmdistrict.org and Jason Dornbush jason.dornbush@gmdistrict.org 

April 1 - Friday
Fairfield Arts and Convention Center, Fairfield
Coordinator(s): Shannon Johnson shannon.johnson@gpaea.org

April 2 - Saturday

Grand View University, Des Moines
Coordinator(s): Dr. Kevin Gannon kgannon@grandview.edu 

April 8 - Friday

Waldorf College, Forest City
Coordinator(s): Prof. James Scarry james.scarry@waldorf.edu, Dr. Eric Franco eric.franco@waldorf.edu, Deb Nagle danagle@nwood-kensett.k12.ia.us 

TBD

Central College, Pella
Coordinator(s): Dr. Lori Witt wittl@central.edu and Ashley Delaney mrsashleydelaney@gmail.com

TBD
Graceland University, Lamoni
Coordinator(s): Joe Stouffer stouffer@graceland.edu

TBD
Decorah Middle School, Decorah
Coordinator(s): Penny Ingles pingles@aea1.k12.ia.us and Alicia Helle ahelle@aea1.k12.ia.us

TBD
Council Bluffs Public Library, Council Bluffs
Coordinator(s): Beth Maynes bmaynes@upcontractor.up.com and Deb Masker dmasker@cbcsd.org