Skip to Content

National History Day in Iowa 2015 Contest Dates 

*Entry fees vary between districts and are determined by the actual costs associated with hosting the contest. Costs for contests that charge no fees are covered by the hosting institution and/or additional sponsors.*

If an entry deadline is not specified, please check with the District Coordinator for details.


March 2 - Monday
St. Ambrose University, Davenport
Coordinator(s): Jan Hill janhillnhd@gmail.com and Chris Green chris.green@north-scott.k12.ia.us
Registration Deadline: 
Fee: $15

March 7 - Saturday

Decorah Middle School, Decorah
Coordinator(s): Penny Ingles pingles@aea1.k12.ia.us and Alicia Helle ahelle@aea1.k12.ia.us
Registration Deadline: February 21
Fee: $1

March 12 - Thursday
Western Iowa Technical College, Sioux City
Coordinator(s): Dr. Judy Sweetman jsweetman@nwaea.k12.ia.us
Registration Deadline: 
Fee: $0

March 14 - Saturday
Storm Lake Middle School, Storm Lake
Coordinator(s): Laura Sievers  lsievers@albertct.k12.ia.us and Priscilla Robinson probinson@slcsd.org
Registration Deadline: March 7 
Fee: $10

March 20, Friday
Old Capitol Museum and Schaeffer Hall - University of Iowa Campus, Iowa City
Coordinator(s): Kathrine Moermond kathrine-moermonde@uiowa.edu and Julia Despain julia-despain@uiowa.edu
Registration Deadline:  February 20
Fee: $12

March 21, Saturday

Council Bluffs Public Library, Council Bluffs
Coordinator(s): Beth Maynes bmaynes@upcontractor.up.com and Deb Masker dmasker@cbcsd.org
Registration Deadline:  February 27
Fee: $0

March 26 - Thursday (Senior Division)
March 27 - Friday (Junior Division)
Grout Museum District, Waterloo
Coordinator(s): Sara Nefzger sara.nefzger@gmdistrict.org and Jason Dornbush jason.dornbush@gmdistrict.org 
Registration Deadline: March 1 
Fee: $6

March 27 - Friday
Waldorf College, Forest City
Coordinator(s): Prof. James Scarry james.scarry@waldorf.edu, Dee Dienst ddienst@aea267.k12.ia.us, and Dr. Eric Franco eric.franco@waldorf.edu
Registration Deadline:  
Fee: $3

April 1 - Wednesday
Central College, Pella
Coordinator(s): Dr. Lori Witt wittl@central.edu and Ashley Delaney mrsashleydelaney@gmail.com
Registration Deadline:  
Fee: $10

April 11 - Saturday
Grand View University, Des Moines
Coordinator(s): Dr. Kevin Gannon kgannon@grandview.edu and Kathy Paul kpaul@johnston.k12.ia.us
Registration Deadline:  
Fee: $13

April 14 - Tuesday
Fairfield Arts and Convention Center, Fairfield
Coordinator(s): Shannon Johnson shannon.johnson@gpaea.org
Registration Deadline:  March 23
Paper and website deadline: March 24
Fee: TBD

TBD
Graceland University, Lamoni
Coordinator(s): Dr. John Franklin jkfrankl@graceland.edu
Registration Deadline:  TBD
Fee: TBD