Skip to Content

National History Day in Iowa 2016 Contest Dates 
*Entry fees vary between districts and are determined by the actual costs associated with hosting the contest. Costs for contests that charge no fees are covered by the hosting institution and/or additional sponsors.*

If an entry deadline is not specified, please check with the District Coordinator for details.  If you have general NHD in Iowa questions, please contact Vania Boland.

"Website Lockout Date" indicates the date on which students will not be able to make changes to their websites. 

Regional Cities

February 27 - Saturday 
Decorah Middle School, Decorah
Coordinator(s): Penny Ingles , Kady Korbel and Alicia Helle

March 7 - Monday

St. Ambrose University, Davenport
Coordinator(s): Jan Hill and Chris Green

March 12 - Saturday

Storm Lake High School, Storm Lake
Coordinator(s): Laura Sievers and Priscilla Robinson

March 18, Friday

Old Capitol Museum and Schaeffer Hall - University of Iowa Campus, Iowa City
Coordinator(s): Kathrine Moermond and Rachel Winter

March 19 - Saturday

Council Bluffs Public Library, Council Bluffs
Coordinator(s): Deb Masker and Beth Maynes 

March 23 - Wednesday

Western Iowa Technical College, Sioux City
Coordinator(s): Dr. Judy Sweetman

March 30 - Wednesday

Central College, Pella
Coordinator(s): Lori Witt and Ashley Delaney

March 31 - Thursday (Senior Division)
April 1  - Friday (Junior Division)
Grout Museum District, Waterloo
Coordinator(s): Sara Nefzger and Jason Dornbush 

April 1 - Friday
Fairfield Arts and Convention Center, Fairfield
Coordinator(s): Shannon Johnson

April 2 - Saturday

Grand View University, Des Moines
Coordinator(s): Dr. Kevin Gannon 

April 8 - Friday

Waldorf College, Forest City
Coordinator(s): Prof. James Scarry, Dr. Eric Franco, Deb Nagle 

Graceland University, Lamoni
Coordinator(s): Joe Stouffer